Faculty & Staff

The Institute for American Indian Education consists of Native Faculty in the College of Education and the College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Native American Studies. Collectively, IAIE faculty recognize the critical nature of preparing pre-service educators, administrators (K-12 and higher education), non-teaching educational professionals, researchers, and policy makers to work with Native People in the state.

 

Staff

Brianna Fragua
Program Coordinator
bfragua@unm.edu

Wendy Gaytan Marin
Office Assistant
iaie@unm.edu

Faculty

 

glenabah-martinez-headshot-1-copy3864.jpgGlenabah Martinez
Director of IAIE
Associate Professor 
Department of Language,
Literacy, Sociocultural Studies
glenie@unm.edu

christine-sims.jpg

Christine Sims
Associate Professor
Department of Language,
Literacy, Sociocultural Studies
csims@unm.edu

Leola Tsinnajinnieleola-t-paquin.jpeg
Assistant Professor
Native American Studies
leola@unm.edu

faculty-photo-1.jpg

Lloyd Lee
Associate Professor
Native American Studies
triplel@unm.edu

 

belone.jpgLorenda Belone
Associate Professor 
Department of Health,
Exercise, & Sports Sciences
Ljoe@salud.unm.edu

 

 

natalie-martinez.jpg

Natalie Martinez
Professional Educator
Department of Language,
Literacy, & Sociocultural Studies
Visiting lecturer III
ncmtz@unm.edu

Terri Flowerdayflowerday.jpg
Professor 
Department of Individual,
Family & Community Education
tflower@unm.edu

werito.jpg

Vincent Werito
Associate Professor 
Department of Language,
Literacy, & Sociocultural Studies
werito@unm.edu

 

screenshot-317.png

Joshua Frank Cárdenas
Visiting Lecturer III,
American Indian Education Dept. of Language,
Literacy & Sociocultural Studies
jstjoshn@unm.edu

holmes.jpg

William "Toby" Holmes
Assistant Professor 
Department of Teacher Education,
Educational Leadership & Policy
tholmes@unm.edu

 

CONTACT IAIE

Address:
Institute for American Indian Education
MSC05 3041
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Email:
IAIE@unm.edu 

Phone:
(505) 277-2733

CONNECT WITH US:

 facebook.com/unmiaie

@unmiaie

Youtube.com/unmiaie